Description

 If there is a way to remove data complete that is unrecoverable (sanitize) from a PTX1000 just like the command request system zeroize media for the MX platform.

Solution

The following link describes few of the request system zeroize commands for Junos OS.

https://www.juniper.net/documentation/us/en/software/junos/cli-reference/topics/ref/command/request-system-zeroize.html

 

For MX Platform:

 

  • request system zeroize
    • If the device has dual Routing Engines, the command is broadcast to all Routing Engines on the device.
    • This command removes all data files, including customized configuration and log files, by unlinking the files from their directories.
    • The command removes all user-created files from the system, including all plain-text passwords, secrets, and private keys for SSH, local encryption, local authentication, IPsec, RADIUS, TACACS+, and SNMP.
    • This command reboots the device and sets it to the factory default configuration. After the reboot, you cannot access the device through the management Ethernet interface. Log in through the console as root and start the Junos OS CLI by typing cli at the prompt. 

 

  • request system zeroize media
    • To completely erase user-created data so that it is unrecoverable, use the media option.
    • In addition to removing all configuration and log files, causes memory and the media to be scrubbed, removing all traces of any user-created files.
    • Every storage device attached to the system is scrubbed, including disks, flash drives, removable USBs, and so on. The duration of the scrubbing process is dependent on the size of the media being erased.

 

 

For PTX Platform:

  • request vmhost zeroize
    • Starting with Junos OS Release 15.1F5, the request system zeroize command removes all configuration information on the guest OS for the MX2010 and MX2020 with REMX2K-1800-32G-S.
    • On these routers, in order to remove all configuration information on both guest OS and host OS, use the request vmhost zeroize command.
    • No media option is available for this command as the config of host OS and guest OS both are removed.
    • It destroys VM and recreated new VM. So, we don’t do any secure erase.

 

  • request vmhost zeroize => clear all sensitive data from disk1
  • request vmhost snashot => secure erase disk2 and install sanitized contents from disk1 to disk2
  • request vmhost reboot disk2 => reboot to disk2
  • request vmhost snapshot recovery => secure erase disk1 and install contents from disk2 to disk1

 

-> This procedure will work for systems with 2 disks

-> This will clear sensitive data, secure erase disk and install image.

 

Modification History

2024-02-29 : Article Created