When doing the commit in the cluster's configuration mode, the customer sees the commit happening in only one node.
root@srx% cli {primary:node0} root@srx> configure warning: Clustering enabled; using private edit warning: uncommitted changes will be discarded on exit Entering configuration mode {primary:node0}[edit] root@srx# commit node0: commit complete {primary:node0}[edit] root@srx#
This happens because there is no difference between the candidate configuration and the active configuration; that is, no changes were made in the configuration on the device, and a blank commit was done in "configure private" mode.
{primary:node0}[edit] root@srx> configure warning: Clustering enabled; using private edit warning: uncommitted changes will be discarded on exit Entering configuration mode {primary:node0}[edit] root@srx# show | compare {primary:node0}[edit] root@srx# commit node0: commit complete
Note: Please verify whether configuration changes were made before the commit.
This is as per design in "configure private" mode. The following occurs when a blank commit is done in "configure private" mode:
For details on the Junos configuration modes, see KB28871 [juniper.net] .
2020-03-31: Article reviewed for accuracy; no changes required.