This article provides information on whether a downgrade of the Platform is possible on the Junos Space or not. Downgrading is not possible; although two workarounds are proposed.
Customers sometimes need to perform a downgrade of the Junos Space Platform.
Sometimes, a few applications are not supported on the Junos Space Platform. In such scenarios, a downgrade is required to achieve supportability.
Downgrade of the Junos Space Platform is not possible.
There are two options to go back to the previous version:
Option 1: (Snapshot taken before upgrade)
Virtual Machine: VM snapshot of the Space system must be taken before the Upgrade. This is best done in a Powered OFF state; especially if you have multiple Space nodes as ALL must be snapshoted at the same moment in time, this is not possible with the VMs in operation See your Hypervisor documentation on how to take and manage snapshots. Appliance: For the JA1500/JA2500, if a System Snapshot of the previous version was taken before going through with the upgrade, it is possible to revert back to the older version without having to re-image Junos Space. To create a System Snapshot, refer to: Creating a System Snapshot To restore from a System Snapshot, refer to: Restoring the System to a Snapshot
Virtual Machine: VM snapshot of the Space system must be taken before the Upgrade. This is best done in a Powered OFF state; especially if you have multiple Space nodes as ALL must be snapshoted at the same moment in time, this is not possible with the VMs in operation See your Hypervisor documentation on how to take and manage snapshots.
Appliance: For the JA1500/JA2500, if a System Snapshot of the previous version was taken before going through with the upgrade, it is possible to revert back to the older version without having to re-image Junos Space.
Option 2: (no snapshot available, restore pre-upgrade backup)
If no snapshot was taken, then the only option left is to re-image the Junos Space to the older version. Download the platform image from the Juniper Network support site Junos Space Network Application Software Download page. Warning: In this procedure, any changes done after the selected pre-upgrade backup will be lost. In case of JA1500/JA2500, follow the document Installing a Junos Space Image on a Junos Space Appliance by Using a USB Drive to re-install to any version In case of Space VA, re-deploy the VM instance to the version needed. Refer to Deploying a Junos Space Virtual Appliance on a VMware ESXi Server for re-deploying the Space VM If a backup of the Junos Space was taken before performing the upgrade, it is possible to re-install the old version and restore the backup to the Junos Space. Refer to: Restoring the Junos Space Network Management Platform Database When restoring the DB, you will be requested for the maintenance user and its password. If you have forgotten the maintenance user password and need to reset it, refer to: KB16853 - What is the Junos Space maintenance user name and default password and how to change the password? [juniper.net] Warning: If an attempt is made to restore from a backup that was taken after the upgrade, it may get restored without any failure message but can cause big problems later.
If no snapshot was taken, then the only option left is to re-image the Junos Space to the older version. Download the platform image from the Juniper Network support site Junos Space Network Application Software Download page.
Warning: In this procedure, any changes done after the selected pre-upgrade backup will be lost.
When restoring the DB, you will be requested for the maintenance user and its password. If you have forgotten the maintenance user password and need to reset it, refer to: KB16853 - What is the Junos Space maintenance user name and default password and how to change the password? [juniper.net] Warning: If an attempt is made to restore from a backup that was taken after the upgrade, it may get restored without any failure message but can cause big problems later.
Warning: If an attempt is made to restore from a backup that was taken after the upgrade, it may get restored without any failure message but can cause big problems later.