This article provides information on how to enable multiple users to simultaneously edit different parts of the configuration via the Private Configuration mode on EX switches.
How to enable multiple users to simultaneously edit different parts of the configuration via the Private Configuration mode.
The configure private command allows multiple users to simultaneously edit different parts of the configuration and commit only their own changes or to roll back, without interfering with one another’s changes. When the configure private command is issued, you can work in a private candidate configuration, which is a copy of the most recently committed configuration. When a private candidate configuration is committed, Junos temporarily locks the global configuration, enforces the restriction that the global configuration must be unmodified to commit private changes, and validates the private candidate configuration. If a merge conflict occurs, the commit fails and the configuration lock is released. You can then modify your private candidate configuration and commit it again. If there are no errors, the changes that are made in the private candidate configuration are merged into the most recently committed global configuration, activated and run on the router, and the configuration lock is released. Note : You cannot commit changes in the 'configure private' mode, when another user is in in the 'configure exclusive' mode. If the global configuration has changed, users in the configure private mode can issue the rollback or update command to obtain the most recently committed shared configuration. You must issue the commit command from the top of the configuration. You cannot save a configure private session; uncommitted changes are discarded. You cannot issue the commit confirmed command, when in the configure private mode. After an Junos upgrade or downgrade, the normal configuration mode or configure exclusive mode must be used to commit a configuration, prior to using the configure private command. If a configure private edit is in session, other users who issue the configure command can view only the global configuration; a message that indicates that the uses must use the configure exclusive or configure private commands to modify the configuration is displayed:
[edit] user@switch#set system host-name TEST error: private edits in use. Try 'configure private' or 'configure exclusive'.
user@switch# configure private error: shared configuration database modified Users currently editing the configuration: root terminal d0 (pid 7951) on since 202-12-25 14:18:46 PST
[edit] user@switch# set system host-name ROCKY [edit] user@switch# show | compare [edit system] - host-name host; + host-name ROCKY; [edit] user@switch# commit [edit system host-name] 'host-name bar' statement does not match patch; 'bar' != 'host' load complete (1 errors) [edit] user@switch# show | compare [edit system] - host-name bar; + host-name ROCKY;
[edit] user@switch# update
[edit] user@switch# rollback